Axel Springer

Launch May 2019  |  Partner superunion

LaunchMay 2019
Partnersuperunion

In recent years Axel Springer Verlag has not only transformed itself into Europe’s leading digital publisher, but into a global media and technology company that generates the majority of its revenues not from journalism, but from digital services.

In order to do justice to this, Axel Springer repositioned itself in 2019 with a new corporate design and corporate sound.

superunion from Berlin was responsible for the new corporate design. For the creation of the corporate sound, they turned to why do birds.

The first application of animation and sound logo was a brand staging film to present the new positioning and the new design. The radicality and speed of the design should also define the film.

The brand staging film:

At the same time a story should be told. Namely the story of the entrepreneur Axel Springer, the start-up founder of the 40s. So we were dealing with the themes of heritage, start-up, speed, design, journalism and digitality.

To capture the content and acoustics of the themes, we used a quotation from Axel Springer, analyzed it for rhythm and speech melody, and reinterpreted the individual elements on the drums.

The drums are the dominant element of sound branding. Its speed, conciseness, and intensity are reflected both in journalism and in the new digital portals of the Axel Springer portfolio – and are also symbolic of the Group’s rapid and determined growth policy.

The resulting rhythm is unpredictable and adaptive; depending on the content and the desired speech melody, speed, timing and the entire structure can change permanently and freely – entirely in line with the new claim: “Empowering free decisions”.

  • International Sound Award 2019 – Grand Prix

Axel Springer

Launch May 2019  |  Partner superunion

LaunchMay 2019
Partnersuperunion

Der Axel Springer Verlag hat sich in den letzten Jahren nicht nur zu Europas führendem digitalen Verlag gewandelt sondern in ein globales Medien- und Technologieunternehmen, dass den Großteil seines Umsatzes nicht mehr aus Journalismus, sondern aus digitalen Services generiert. 

Um dem auch in der Kommunikation gerecht zu werden, hat sich Axel Springer 2019 repositioniert und das mit einem neuen Corporate Design und einem Corporate Sound begleitet.

Zuständig für das neue Corporate Design war superunion aus Berlin. Für die Kreation des Corporate Sounds haben sie sich an why do birds gewendet.

Die erste Anwendung von Animation und Soundlogo war ein Markeninszenierungsfilm um die neue Positionierung und das neue Design zu präsentieren. Das Radikalität und Geschwindigkeit des Designs sollte auch den Film definieren. 

Der Markeninszenierungsfilm:

Gleichzeitig sollte eine Geschichte erzählt werden. Nämlich die vom Unternehmer Axel Springer, dem Start-Up-Gründer der 40er Jahre. Wir hatten es also mit den Themen Heritage, Start-Up, Geschwindigkeit, Design, Journalismus und Digitalität zu tun.

Um die Themen inhaltlich und akustisch einzufangen, haben wir uns eines Zitats von Axel Springer bedient, es auf Rhythmus und Sprachmelodie analysiert und die einzelnen Elemente auf dem Schlagzeug reinterpretiert.

Das Schlagzeug ist das dominierende Element des Sound Branding. Seine Geschwindigkeit, Prägnanz und Intensität spiegelt sich sowohl im Journalismus als auch in den neuen digitalen Portalen des Axel Springer Portfolios – und ist darüber hinaus symbolisch für die rasante und konsequente Wachstumspolitik des Konzerns.

Der entstehende Rhythmus ist unvorhersehbar und adaptiv, ja nach Inhalt und gewünschter Sprachmelodie können sich Geschwindigkeit, Takt und die komplette Struktur permanent frei wandeln – ganz im Sinne des neuen Claims: „Empowering free decisions“