Genesis

Launch 2018  |  Service Strategy, Corporate Sound, Soundtrack

Launch2018
ServiceStrategy, Corporate Sound, Soundtrack

why do birds has been the global Audio Branding agency for Hyundai Motor Company since 2015. After the successful implementation of the Hyundai brand sound in 2017, why do birds was commissioned to develop a similarly comprehensive 360° brand sound for the Group’s luxury brand “Genesis”.

The goal of the project was to find the perfect audio translation of the brand personality and create a musical DNA that sets the brand apart from its competitors.

The brand’s creative expression “Quietly Iconic” is especially valid in the audio identity. The sound doesn’t need speed or volume – it is gentle, but distinct and confident with a firm composition. It demonstrates a “sense of being and not competing”, very “focused” and not “driven”. It shows an understated expression of elegance.

To demonstrate the feeling of luxury, it was essential to give the Genesis music space. We let sounds vibrate and gave them reverb and room to breathe. Classical instruments like a Cello, which is also the lead-instrument of the sound logo underline the brand’s premium character.

The Korean heritage is conveyed by a distinct rhythm, inspired by the traditional Jangu-drum, which is also picked up in the 5-note leitmotif and the sonic logo. The rhythm is unusual, dynamic and reflects the independent-minded character of the brand.

For the first time, explicit guidelines support marketing departments and agencies in implementing the new sound, ensuring global consistency while reducing costs to create new music.

In 2018 the Genesis sound was awarded a Red Dot Best of the Best Award.

We are honored to be selected by the esteemed Red Dot Design panel for the Genesis Sound, which is only one initial steps for our full design transformation. Genesis design, in all its forms, will continue to pave the way forward.
Manfred Fitzgerald, executive vice president and global head of the Genesis Brand

  • Red Dot Award 2018 – Best of the Best
  • Transform Award Asia Pacific 2018, Nominee

Genesis

Launch 2018  |  Leistung Strategie, Corporate Sound, Vertonungen

Launch2018
LeistungStrategie, Corporate Sound, Vertonungen

why do birds ist seit 2015 die globale Audio-Branding-Agentur für die Hyundai Motor Company. Nach der erfolgreichen Implementierung des Hyundai Brand Sounds wurde why do birds 2017 mit der Entwicklung eines ähnlich umfangreichen 360° Soundkonzepts für die Konzernluxusmarke „Genesis“ beauftragt.

Ziel des Projekts war es, die perfekte Übersetzung der Markenpersönlichkeit zu finden und eine musikalische DNA zu schaffen, die die Marke von ihren Mitbewerbern unterscheidet.

Die Genesis Creative Expression „Quietly Iconic“ ist für den Markensound von besonderer Bedeutung. Er muss nicht laut oder schnell sein – er ist sanft, klar und souverän und basiert auf einer starken Komposition. Er zeigt ein „Gefühl des Seins und nicht des Konkurrierens“, sehr „fokussiert“, nicht getrieben. Die Musik vermittelt ein Gefühl von Eleganz.

Um den Premium-Charakter der Marke zu unterstreichen, wurde dem Genesis Sound Raum gegeben. Töne klingen aus und bekommen Hall und Raum zum Atmen. Klassische Instrumente wie ein Cello, das auch das Lead-Instrument des Soundlogos ist, prägen die Brand Music.

Die koreanische „Heritage“ wird durch einen Rhythmus vermittelt, der von traditionellen Jangu-Trommeln inspiriert ist. Dieser wird auch im 5-Ton Leitmotiv des Soundlogos aufgegriffen. Der Rhythmus ist ungewöhnlich, dynamisch und spiegelt den eigenständigen Charakter der Marke wider.

Corporate Sound Guidelines unterstützen Marketingabteilungen und Agenturen bei der Umsetzung des neuen Sounds, sorgen weltweit für Konsistenz und senken gleichzeitig die Kosten für die Erstellung neuer Musik.

2018 wurde der Genesis Sound mit dem Red Dot Best of the Best Award ausgezeichnet.

“Wir fühlen uns geehrt, von der angesehenen Red Dot Design Jury für den Genesis Sound ausgezeichnet worden zu sein. Und dies ist nur ein erster Schritt auf dem Weg zu unserer vollständigen Designtransformation. Unser Genesis Design, in all seinen Formen, wird auch in Zukunft richtungsweisend sein.”
Manfred Fitzgerald, executive vice president and global head of the Genesis Brand

  • Red Dot Award 2018 – Best of the Best
  • Transform Award Asia Pacific 2018, Nominee